Back to Events, Feature, News,

INTBAU Ethiopia Talk Series

Focusing on Ethiopia’s built heritage and the traditional building practices in the country, this series is open to all and free to attend.

INTBAU Ethiopia has launched a five-month long online talk series. The programme includes talks from academics, researchers, and practitioners from Ethiopia and abroad, who are to present on a variety of topics, focusing on Ethiopia’s built heritage and the traditional building practices within the country. The series seeks to inspire, engage, and educate participants about local methods of designing for a better built future. The sessions will be held on the last week of every month from February until June and are free to attend for all interested.

February


Enrique Sevillano Gutierrez

Researcher at CRAterre

Local Building Cultures for Sustainable and Resilient Habitats: Some Examples from Ethiopia

Date: Thursday 25th February

Time: 17:30 GMT, 12:30 EST, 20:30 EAT, 18:30 CET

March


Professor Stephane Pradines

Institute for the Study of Muslim Civilisations AGA KHAN UNIVERSITY

Ethiopian mosques, the case of Nora and Islamic architecture in the region

April


Brook Tefera Belay

Architect & managing partner @ BIGAR Builders & Developers PLC

Architectural renovation / restoration works; a case study of two projects in Ethiopia.

May


Tarn Philipp

Independent Researcher

Embodied Knowledge and Craft: New Rock-hewn Churches of Northern Ethiopia

June


Rumi Okazaki (PHD)

Lecturer at Shibaura Institute of Technology, Japan

Title TBC


You can find out more about INTBAU Ethiopia on their Chapter page.

For more information on how to become a free member of INTBAU, please see here.