Back to News,

2019 Richard H. Driehaus Architecture Competition

An international architecture competition promoting traditional architecture

The Richard H. Driehaus Architecture Competition is an international competition created to help preserve and revive the use of local architectural traditions. It awards and promotes proposals upholding local architectural traditions, creating a sense of place, and contributing to making more beautiful, coherent, sustainable, and socially integrated towns.

After having selected three locations in the Competition Phase One: Béjar (Salamanca), Guadix (Granada) and Olite (Navarra), Phase Two is now open. In this stage, architects and urban planners from around the world will be able to submit their design proposals for any of the three locations selected. A second international jury, formed with representatives from the various participating institutions, including representatives of the authorities of the three municipalities to which the sites belong, will evaluate the proposals and select the ones which best meet competition’s criteria.

Participants must register and submit their design proposals before 20th March 2019 at 2:00pm (Madrid time).

The Richard H. Driehaus Architecture Competition is released by the Department of Building and Architecture of the Ministry of Public Works and Infrastructure, thanks to the support of the Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Lead Trust, through a contribution to the Chicago Community Foundation for the Richard H. Driehaus Charitable Fund, and the collaboration of INTBAU, the Department of Beaux Arts of the Ministry of Culture and Sports, the Rafael Manzano Prize of New Traditional Architecture and the Council of Architecture Institutes of Spain.

Find out more on the competition website:

Béjar (Salamanca)

Guadix (Granada)

Olite (Navarra)