Back to Feature, News,

2023 Richard H. Driehaus Prize Laureate

British architectural designer and educator Ben Pentreath has been named winner of the 2023 Richard H. Driehaus Prize.

British architectural designer and educator Ben Pentreath has been named this year’s winner of the Richard H. Driehaus Prize. This prize is awared to one individual each year by the University of Notre Dame in recognition of a broad-reaching body of work that has succeeded in encapsulating its namesake’s values of beauty, durability and a commitment to place.

Ben Pentreath will receive a sum of $200,000, and joins a revered group of past winners, including Sebastian Treese, Robert Adam, and last year’s recipient, Robert Krier.

“Ben’s artistry and architecture combine to create urbanism across all contexts while he works effortlessly in harmony with the local landscape, heritage, climate, and culture of the settings where his work is rooted — lending an aura of both authenticity and cultural continuity to it,” the dean of the school of architecture at the University of Notre Dame and jury prize chair Stefanos Polyzoides said in a statement. “Most importantly, the work conveys a sense of stewardship of the Earth and its resources at a time when an attitude of conservation and investment should be an essential part of the solutions to address the environmental crisis of our time.” 
Find out more

Interiors by Ben Pentreath
Brockenhurst Park
Interiors by Ben Pentreath
Weymouth Harbour Historic Reconstruction