Back to News,

INTBAU Summer School in the Azores

This summer school took place from 11 to 24 July on Pico in the Azores Islands, Portugal.

This summer school took place from 11 to 24 July on Pico island in the Azores, Portugal. Students studied the traditional architecture and urbanism of the island and created a traditional pattern book. It is hoped that the pattern book will continue to exist as resource for future new build and conservation projects.

During the first week, the students embarked on site visits to improve their measured drawing skills. Students also attended lectures from experts on the local history, geology, biology, landscape, and architectural traditions of the area. These lectures took place at the Whaling Museum at the Lajes do Pico.

The students then worked together to create a development proposal for the town that would address the needs of the local community. The final proposal focussed on a piece of underdeveloped land by the seafront, and included a new waterfront, square, auditorium, hotel, market and a music pavilion.

At the end of the summer school, the drawings and the final design proposal were exhibited at the Whaling Museum of Lajes do Pico.

This program was organised by INTBAU and the Rafael Manzano Prize of New Traditional Architecture, with the support of the Lajes do Pico municipality, the Fundación EKABA, the Fundação Serra Henriques and Alireza & Mina Sagharchi, and the collaboration of the Government of Azores through its Department of Culture, Cham Açores, the Universidade Portucalense do Porto (Portugal) and the Instituto Universitário de Lisboa ISCTE-IUL (Portugal), the schools of architecture of the University of Miami and the University of Notre Dame (USA), the Universidad Politécnica de Madrid and the Centro de Investigación de Arquitectura Tradicional (CIAT).

The work was developed by a very international team made of people from more than 10 countries. The faculty and organizing team was formed by José Baganha (INTBAU Portugal), Carolina Cabra Ankersmit (INTBAU España), Aritz Diez Oronoz (Universidad del País Vasco), Alejandro García Hermida (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid | Premio Rafael Manzano | INTBAU España), Guillermo Gil Fernández (Premio Rafael Manzano | INTBAU España), Rebeca Gómez-Gordo Villa Premio Rafael Manzano | INTBAU España), Imanol Iparraguirre Barbero (Universidad del País Vasco), Frank Martínez (University of Miami), Pedro P. Palazzo (Universidade de Brasília), Jorge Santos Silva (INTBAU Portugal) and Lucien Steil (University of Luxemburgo).  Lecturers included Raul Azevedo, Manuel da Costa (Museu do Pico), Igor Espínola de França (CHAM Açores), Rui Florentino (Universidade Portucalense do Porto | INTBAU Portugal), Alexandre Gamelas (AGCS Arquitectos | INTBAU Portugal), Mónica Goulart (Parque Natural da Ilha do Pico. Direção Regional do Ambiente), Ramón Mayo (Kalam | Fundação EKABA), Manuel Paulino (Direção Regional do Ambiente e Alterações Climáticas), Telma Ribeiro (Universidade Portucalense do Porto | INTBAU Portugal), José Luís Saldanha (ISCTE Instituto Universitário de Lisboa) e Catarina Santos (AGCS Arquitectos | INTBAU Portugal). And the participants were Taruna Ramakrishnan Aiyyar (India), Clara Alvariño Galicia (Spain), Patrícia Antunes dos Reis (Portugal), Aiala Bastero Acha (Spain), Alaric Bovero (France), Inês Castro Lobo (Portugal), Pietro Degli Esposti (Italy/Brasil), Emmanuela Dretaki (Greece), Guillermo Escolano Martínez (Spain), Madeline Vogel Fairman (USA), Duarte Fernandez Ruivo (Portugal), Karla Fidalgo (USA), Pierre Keller (France), Alejandro Martínez del Río (Spain), Laura Miguel Pastor (Spain), João Tiago Neto Tereso (Portugal), Daniele Roccaro (Italy), Cesar Eduardo Rojas Marrugo (Colombia), Andrew Seago (USA), Nicholas Sloan (USA), Ashley Straub (USA), Alexis Stypa (USA) and Nathan Walz (USA).